Brahma Vishnu vs. Shiva

What's the Difference?

Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva are three major deities in Hinduism, collectively known as the Trimurti. Brahma is the creator of the universe, responsible for bringing everything into existence. Vishnu is the preserver, ensuring the balance and harmony of the world. He is believed to have incarnated on Earth multiple times to restore righteousness. Shiva, on the other hand, is the destroyer and transformer. He represents the cycle of life, death, and rebirth. While Brahma is often depicted with four heads and Vishnu with four arms, Shiva is recognized by his third eye, matted hair, and a crescent moon on his forehead. Despite their distinct roles, Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva are interconnected and represent different aspects of the divine power in Hinduism.


AttributeBrahma VishnuShiva
Supreme DeityYesYes
VehicleHamsa (Swan)Garuda (Eagle)
Associated ElementFireWater

Further Detail


Hinduism, one of the oldest religions in the world, worships a trinity of gods known as Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva. Each of these deities represents different aspects of the divine and plays a unique role in the Hindu cosmology. In this article, we will explore the attributes of Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva, shedding light on their distinct characteristics and the significance they hold in Hindu mythology.

Brahma: The Creator

Brahma, the first member of the Hindu trinity, is often depicted with four heads, each facing a different direction, symbolizing his all-encompassing knowledge. He is associated with creation, responsible for bringing the universe into existence. Brahma is often depicted sitting on a lotus, representing purity and transcendence. His consort is Saraswati, the goddess of knowledge and arts.

As the creator, Brahma is believed to have created the four Vedas, the sacred texts of Hinduism, and is considered the source of all knowledge. However, despite his role as the creator, Brahma is not widely worshipped in Hinduism. This is due to a curse placed upon him by Lord Shiva, which restricts his worship to a limited extent.

Despite his limited worship, Brahma's attributes of creation and knowledge are highly revered in Hindu philosophy. He represents the power of creation and the importance of knowledge in the cosmic order.

Vishnu: The Preserver

Vishnu, the second member of the Hindu trinity, is regarded as the preserver and sustainer of the universe. He is often depicted with blue skin, holding various weapons and symbols, such as the conch shell, discus, and lotus flower. Vishnu is believed to have incarnated on Earth in different forms, known as avatars, to restore balance and protect the world from evil forces.

One of the most famous avatars of Vishnu is Lord Rama, the protagonist of the epic Ramayana. Lord Krishna, another prominent avatar, is revered as a teacher and philosopher in the Bhagavad Gita. These avatars showcase Vishnu's attributes of righteousness, compassion, and protection of dharma (righteousness).

Vishnu is often worshipped by devotees seeking blessings for a harmonious and prosperous life. His devotees believe that by praying to Vishnu, they can attain spiritual enlightenment and liberation from the cycle of birth and death.

Shiva: The Destroyer and Transformer

Shiva, the third member of the Hindu trinity, is known as the destroyer and transformer. He is often depicted with a third eye on his forehead, representing his all-seeing wisdom. Shiva is associated with asceticism, meditation, and the power of destruction, which is necessary for the cycle of creation and renewal.

Shiva is often depicted in a meditative pose, surrounded by serpents and wearing a crescent moon on his head. He is also known as Nataraja, the cosmic dancer, symbolizing the rhythmic movement of the universe. Shiva's consort is Parvati, the goddess of fertility and power.

Devotees of Shiva worship him as the ultimate reality, the formless and eternal consciousness that transcends all dualities. Shiva represents the power of destruction, which is necessary for new beginnings and the transformation of the universe. His devotees seek his blessings for spiritual growth, liberation, and the dissolution of ego.


Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva, the three primary deities of Hinduism, embody different aspects of the divine and play crucial roles in the cosmic order. Brahma represents creation and knowledge, Vishnu symbolizes preservation and righteousness, while Shiva embodies destruction and transformation. Together, they form a trinity that maintains the balance of the universe.

While each deity has distinct attributes and characteristics, they are not separate entities but rather different manifestations of the same divine reality. Devotees of Hinduism worship these deities to seek their blessings and guidance in various aspects of life, including creation, preservation, and transformation.

Understanding the attributes of Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva helps us appreciate the multifaceted nature of the divine and the intricate interplay of creation, preservation, and destruction in the cosmic order.

Comparisons may contain inaccurate information about people, places, or facts. Please report any issues.